BBC to Turn His Dark Materials Into a TV Series

his dark materials books

Confession: I still haven’t read Philip Pullman’s series, His Dark Materials. This may seem like a huge gap in my YA experience but hey, I’m only now watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer so it’s clear I’m behind the times on occasion. I saw The Golden Compass and didn’t love it, although there were concepts I loved, so chances are I’ll enjoy the books more than I did the film. Luckily, someone else is going to attempt to bring the story to screen – the small screen, that is.

BBC One has commissioned an eight-part series based on the British author’s hit young-adult novel trilogy from U.S.-U.K. production company Bad Wolf and New Line Cinema.

Pullman’s tale – originally recounted in the books Northern Lights, The Subtle Knife and The Amber Spyglass – follows the tale of an orphan girl named Lyra who lives in a magical, parallel world where mythical creatures exist alongside humans.

As the story unfolds, she is faced with an epic quest, discovers secrets about her past and becomes caught up in a celestial battle that could change the entire universe.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/arts/pullman-his-dark-materials-tv-1.3301466

I trust the BBC to do a pretty decent job with things, so I will be sure to tune in when this 8-part series is released. Will you?

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

